Outstanding Middle Level Administrator

UMLA Administrator Award

The Outstanding Middle Level Administrator Award is given to the school or district administrator who has served to foster effective middle level practice. The award recognizes the leader who makes a difference, who ascribes to middle level philosophy, and who has actively promoted middle level reform in a school or district.

The following documentation must accompany the nomination

  • Award Nomination Form with contact information for both nominee and nominator
  • Description of professional service as it relates to the award
  • Examples of activities
  • No more than three letters of reference and support that speak directly to the stated criteria

Selection procedures

Selection procedures include a committee review of nominations and materials, with the ultimate decision being made by the Utah Middle Level Association Board Members. ALL AWARDS APPLICATIONS AND DOCUMENTATION MUST BE SUBMITTED BY January 31.

Mail nominations to:
P.O. Box 521286
Salt Lake City, Utah 84152-1286

Or e-mail applications to:

Past Recipients of the Outstanding Middle Level Administrator Award:

  • 2005 Catherine Jensen, Principal, West Hills Middle School, Jordan District
  • 2006 Fred Openshaw, Principal, Willowcreek Middle School, Alpine District
  • 2007 Nancy Jadallah, Principal, Eisenhower Junior High School, Granite District
  • 2008 (rural) Mary Bray, Principal & Teacher, Wayne Middle School, Bicknell, (urban) Spencer Hansen, Assistant Principal, Syracuse Junior High School, Davis District
  • 2009 Kerrie Naylor, Jordan District
  • 2011 Larry Abraham, Principal, Tooele Junior High School, Tooele School District
  • 2012 Kendall Benson, Cedar Middle School, Iron County School District
  • 2013 Janette Milano, Principal, South Hills Middle School, Jordan School District
  • 2015 Jennifer Covington, Principal, Hillcrest Junior High School, Murray School District
  • 2016 Ben Jameson Principal of South Hills Middle School
  • 2017